Quick Links

 

Vocal News


Ferrier Success for Louise Alder

Monday 29 April 2013

RCM soprano Louise Alder has been awarded second prize at the prestigious Kathleen Ferrier Awards...

Sir Colin Davis

Monday 15 April 2013

We were very sorry to hear of the death of RCM alumnus Sir Colin Davis on Sunday 14 April 2013.

Michael Gough Matthews

Thursday 11 April 2013

We are very sorry to report the death of Vice-President and former RCM Director, Michael Gough Matthews, on Thursday 11 April 2013.

RCM Competition Successes

Wednesday 13 March 2013

RCM musicians Jennifer Hughes, Sinead O'Kelly and Ian Tindale have all enjoyed success in recent competitions.

Radio appearances by RCM singers

Tuesday 12 March 2013

RCM Singers have appeared on BBC Radio 3 and Resonance FM to discuss the London Handel Festival / RCM production of Imeneo.

Royal Over-Seas League Competition

Monday 18 February 2013

RCM baritone Morgan Pearse has been awarded the top prize in the Singers Section of the Royal Over-Seas League Music Competition.

The Scalpel and the Bow

Monday 14 January 2013

Head of Performance Science Professor Aaron Williamon has featured on the popular BBC Radio 3 series Between the Ears.

Monteverdi at the RCM

Tuesday 20 November 2012

Next week the RCM's latest opera production will be unveiled: a brand new production of Monteverdi’s L’incoronazione di Poppea.

Apply now for International Auditions

Monday 1 October 2012

Apply now for auditions in South Korea and Japan - the deadline is fast approaching!

Celebrating Benjamin Britten

Tuesday 11 September 2012

The Britten-Pears Foundation has unveiled details of the centenary celebrations for RCM alumnus Benjamin Britten.

Baroque Opera Success

Monday 10 September 2012

Recent graduates baritone Edward Grint and counter tenor Jake Arditti have been awarded major prizes in the Cesti International Baroque Opera Singing Competition in Innsbruck. 

Honorary Awards Announced

Thursday 19 July 2012

The RCM is pleased to announce a number of honorary awards on individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to life at the RCM and the wider musical community.

Tea at the House of Lords

Friday 13 July 2012

Professor Lord Winston, the RCM Chairman, invited members of the RCM Chamber Choir for a special tea at the House of Lords...

An Honorary Doctorate for Bryn

Friday 13 July 2012

The RCM has awarded an Honorary Doctorate to bass-baritone Bryn Terfel...

Singing in the Rain!

Thursday 31 May 2012

Torrential rain didn't stop the Royal College of Music Chamber Choir entertaining the crowds at the Thames Diamond Jubilee Pageant...

Michael the Maestro Mentor

Sunday 20 May 2012

RCM Director of Opera Michael Rosewell has been appearing on our screens in the BBC series "Maestro at the Opera"...

Success for Sophie!

Wednesday 2 May 2012

RCM alumna Sophie Bevan has won the Sky Arts South Bank Show “Breakthrough Award”...

Live on Radio 3

Monday 30 April 2012

On Friday 27 April, the RCM Baroque Orchestra and Soloists appeared on BBC Radio 3's "In Tune" to promote a very special concert...

Leopold de Rothschild

Friday 20 April 2012

With deep regret we report the death on Thursday 19 April of Leopold de Rothschild CBE, FRCM

From Indiana to Kensington

Monday 26 March 2012

This March, we were delighted to welcome three vocal students from the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University...

The President's Visit 2012

Thursday 15 March 2012

On Wednesday 14 March, HRH The Prince of Wales visited the Royal College of Music, where in his role as President of the RCM, he presented special honours at the College’s annual awards ceremony...

In Tune with Riccardo Primo

Friday 16 March 2012

The London Handel Festival’s production of Handel's Riccardo Primo at the RCM starring RCM students was featured on yesterday’s In Tune on BBC Radio 3. 

Disc of the Week

Monday 5 March 2012

RCM Head of Historical Performance Ashley Solomon has scored a success with his new Vivaldi CD.

Figaro Comes to the RCM

Thursday 23 February 2012

The RCM International Opera School is delighted to announce its summer production: Mozart’s "Le Nozze di Figaro" (The Marriage of Figaro).

The Life of Schumann

Wednesday 22 February 2012

The Life of Schumann by Visiting Research Fellow Michael Musgrave (FRCM) was published in May 2011 by Cambridge University Press in its ‘Musical Lives’ Series.

Martha's 'Romanze' on BBC Radio 3

Friday 17 February 2012

RCM alumna mezzo soprano Martha Jones’s recording of Schubert’s ‘Romanze’ is being broadcast at 2pm on BBC Radio 3 on Friday 17 February.

Ruby's Manchester Debut

Friday 3 February 2012

RCM alumna Ruby Hughes is making her concert debut with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra on Friday 3 February, which will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3.

The Father of New Zealand Opera

Thursday 26 January 2012

The Royal College of Music is sad to learn of the death of RCM alumni Donald Munro, the “Father of New Zealand Opera”.

New Year's Honours

Friday 6 January 2012

We offer warm congratulations to the many musicians whose achievements have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours list. 

Brilliant Bizet!

Tuesday 20 December 2011

Two of the UK's leading opera critics have praised the RCM International Opera School's latest production...

Dame Joan Sutherland Exhibition at Royal Opera House

Thursday 10 November 2011

The Royal Opera House Collections has just launched a new exhibition about legendary soprano and RCM alumna Dame Joan Sutherland.

Two Magical Sopranos

Monday 31 October 2011

In 2012, two recent RCM graduates will be performing in high profile productions of Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte (”The Magic Flute”).

RCM Orchestras Out and About

Monday 31 October 2011

This autumn, in addition to presenting our usual packed orchestral season here at the Royal College of Music, we are sending our orchestras out and about to perform at a number of venues across the south of England.

Wigmore Hall Success for RCM Singer

Monday 24 October 2011

Congratulations to mezzo-soprano Anna Huntley, who has been awarded the Wigmore Hall / Independent Opera Voice Fellowship

First Prize for RCM Singer

Monday 17 October 2011

Congratulations to RCM soprano Abigail Mitchell who won first prize in the International "Vokal Genial" competition in Munich with the Munich Radio Orchestra at the weekend

Special Award for RCM Singer

Wednesday 5 October 2011

Congratulations to Australian baritone Morgan Pearse who has been awarded AUD 20,000 by the Australian Music Foundation, following his successful audition at Wigmore Hall.

Brahms in the Home

Tuesday 11 October 2011

This November, a conference and concert series shed light on a vital but little-explored facet of 19th-century music-making...

100% employability for RCM graduates

Friday 23 September 2011

According to a study carried out by the Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA), RCM graduates are more likely to find employment than those of any other UK conservatoire

Vocal Faculty Open Door

Monday 5 September 2011

A brand new initiative from the RCM gives aspiring singers the chance to maximise their chances of audition success...

Special Prize for RCM Singer

Tuesday 30 August 2011

Countertenor Rupert Enticknap has been awarded a special prize at one of Europe's most prestigious singing competitions...

RCM Singer triumphs in France

Wednesday 24 August 2011

Soprano Robyn Parton has scooped a major award at one of Europe's top competitions for young singers...

2011 Ernest Bloch Competition

Monday 25 July 2011

RCM performers have walked off with the top two prizes in the 2011 Ernest Bloch Music Competition...

President's Visit 2011

Wednesday 22 June 2011

On Thursday 12 May, HRH The Prince of Wales made his annual visit to the Royal College of Music...

Multiple triumphs for RCM performers

Wednesday 22 June 2011

RCM performers have almost swept the board at this year's Royal Over-Seas League Music Competition...