Back to top      

Low risk nationals

Students working in the Britten Theatre
Certain countries have been classified by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) as ‘low risk’, which means applicants from these countries are subject to different documentary requirements when applying for a Tier 4 visa. This classification is sometimes referred to as the ‘differentiation arrangements’. 

Students from low risk countries are usually required to submit less documentary evidence than students from other countries. For example, you may not have to supply bank statements or certificates.

UKVI may ask to see some of your supporting evidence after your application has been submitted. If you are unable to provide the required documents you will be deemed to have made a false declaration. If this happens your visa application will be refused and you could be barred from making future visa applications to the UK.

Have evidence prepared

All applicants for Tier 4 visas must sign a declaration to confirm they have available all the necessary evidence to support their application. Although low risk nationals may not be required to submit all of that evidence with their application, they still need to have it prepared.

Low risk countries

A full lisk of the countries currently designated by the UK Home Office as low risk for the purpose of Tier 4 visa applications is provided in Appendix H of the Immigration Rules.

View low risk countries

Students with dual nationality

If you have dual nationality and only one of your nationalities is listed, you can still apply under the differentiation arrangements, as long as you apply in the country where you are resident, or in the UK if applying for Leave to Remain.

Further information

UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) regularly makes amendments to the policy guidance. It is essential that you check the latest requirements of the UKVI Tier 4 Policy Guidance before submitting a Tier 4 visa application. While the information on these pages has been provided in good faith and every effort is made to keep this website up-to-date, the RCM accepts no legal responsibility for its accuracy.

UKVI Tier 4 policy guidance