Back to top      
Students chatting while looking through shelves in the RCM Library

Library

The Royal College of Music Library supports teaching and performance at the RCM. The library contains a wealth of material including more than 350,000 scores, books and recordings in the lending collection.

In addition to the lending collection, the RCM Library holds internationally significant materials such as the manuscripts of Mozart’s C minor Piano Concerto K491, Elgar’s Cello Concerto and Chopin’s Minute Waltz. Our collections include more than 20,000 manuscripts, 40,000 early printed editions, 140 personal archives and 700,000 concert and opera programmes. Postcards and facsimiles of some of the most significant items are available to buy from the RCM shop.

The RCM Library also manages the College archive which includes information about former staff, students and the history of the College.

Current opening hours

Monday 16 December: Closed
Tuesday 17 December: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm
Wednesday 18 December: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm
Thursday 19 December: 10am-12pm only
Friday 20 December: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm
Monday 23 December: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm

Closed 24 December - 1 January

Thursday 2 January: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm
Friday 3 January: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm
Monday 6 January: Closed
Tuesday 7 January: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm
Friday 10 January: 10am-1pm & 2pm-4.30pm

Last issues and returns are 15 minutes before closing time.

Find out more

Enquiries

If you have any general queries about the library please feel free to contact us via the email or phone number below, or ask in person at the library counter. A full list of library staff is available on our contacts page.

RCM Library

General enquiries

+44 (0)20 7591 4325

library@rcm.ac.uk