Back to top      


2014/15 Junior Fellows Announced

Wednesday 4 September 2013


RCM Director Professor Colin Lawson CBE has announced an impressive list of Junior Fellows for the 2014/15 academic year.

Selected via a hugely competitive audition process, Junior Fellows represent some of today's finest young performers and academics. They make a vital contribution to life at the RCM in a huge variety of ways, including putting on concerts and lectures, coaching and accompanying RCM students, undertaking special research projects, and in general supporting RCM students through their transition to professional careers.

The full list is as follows. Those marked with asterisks are holding Junior Fellowships for a second year:

Mills Williams Junior Fellowship for students on the Artist Diploma Course
Soh-Yon Kim (violin)

Constant & Kit Lambert Junior Fellowship for students on the Artist Diploma Course
Joo Yeon Sir (violin)

Junior Fellowships in Piano Accompaniment:

Lord & Lady Lurgan Junior Fellowship
Chad Vindin (working primarily with the vocal faculty)

Gilbert & Eileen Edgar Junior Fellowship
Saul Batista Picado (working primarily with the strings faculty)

Anthony Saltmarsh Junior Fellowship
Simon Callaghan* (working primarily with the woodwind and strings faculties)

Adami Award for Piano Accompanists Junior Fellowship
Paul McKenzie (working primarily with the strings and vocal faculties)

Ian Evans Lombe Junior Fellow
Elliot Launn (working primarily with the strings, brass and percussion faculties)

Linda Hill Junior Fellowship in Harpsichord/Continuo
Nathaniel Mander (working primarily with the Historical Performance Department)

Junior Fellowship in Harpsichord/Continuo
Thomas Allery (working primarily with the Historical Performance Department, one day a week)

Find out more about these musicians by visiting the Junior Fellows website.