The 2020 NYO musicians from the RCMJD

NYO success for RCMJD musicians

Monday 13 January 2020

A total of 24 musicians from the Royal College of Music Junior Department have joined the National Orchestra of Great Britain for 2020. This is the highest number of RCMJD musicians selected for the orchestra in recent years.

The talented musicians are: violinists Betania Johnny, Ignacy Stefanowicz, Clio Harwood, Gabriella Bavetta, Catherine Alsey, Lottie Swainston, Bronagh Lee and Ross Ah-Weng; violist Emily Fraser; cellists James Dew, Kevin Zheng and Alex Wong; oboists Antonia Holloway and Tom Kirby; clarinettists Gisela Chung Halpern, Pheonix Mombru and Iona Salter; bassoonist Aidan Campbell; horn players Brendan Connellan, Alice Knight, Anna Le Huray and Sarah Pennington; harpist Tatiana Fraser; composer Chelsea Becker.

Miranda Francis, Head of Junior Programmes at the RCM, said: 'I am immensely proud of the 24 young musicians who have secured places in the National Youth Orchestra and the many other JD students who have been invited to join the NYO Inspire programme.  I would like to thank all of the inspirational teachers and orchestral tutors here at the RCMJD for supporting these talented young musicians and helping them on their way. I can't wait to hear the 2020 orchestra in action.’

Founded in 1948, the NYO is comprised entirely of teenagers and renowned for its brilliant, high-adrenaline and fresh orchestral performances. It is also known for its profound influence on classical music, with high-profile alumni such as Sir Simon Rattle, Alison Balsom and Judith Weir, as well as ex-NYO members in many leading orchestras and ensembles around the world.

This year's success continues the legacy of RCMJD students taking up prestigious positions in the NYO, with RCMJD alumnae Stephanie Childress, Elodie Chousmer-Howelles and Leora Cohen all having been appointed leader in recent years. 

More information about this year’s orchestra and upcoming events can be found on the NYO website. Found out more about the RCM Junior Department here.

Back to top