Clarinet player in orchestra woodwind section

Doctoral clarinet studentship now open for applications

Thursday 1 November 2018

The Royal College of Music is pleased to invite applications from doctoral candidates for the Pamela Weston Clarinet Research & Performance Scholarship.

The studentship, funded by the late Pamela Weston, will pay tuition fees for full-time study over three years or part-time study over six years for Home/EU students working towards a DMus or PhD research degree. It is expected that the successful candidate will take up the studentship in September 2019.

Among the RCM's staff are some of the world's leading clarinet players and scholars, including Colin Lawson, Michael Collins, Michael Harris, Tim Lines, Barnaby Robson and Ingrid Pearson. In addition, the RCM Library and Collections contain substantial holdings of manuscripts, programmes and other materials relating to the clarinet, such as the Graham Melville-Mason collection. Applicants are welcome to undertake research into any aspect of the instrument or its repertory.

Find out more about the award and the application process

Back to top